Fifteen finals attract crowd

Ryan Cates and Paul Rainford

By Debbie Yates

Pat Thorley and Elaine Mills

The Isle of Wight Table Tennis Association’s (IWTTA) finals night was held on May 1 with fifteen finals taking place, including Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles, Men’s Doubles, Women’s Doubles and Mixed Doubles, along with the Junior and Cadet finals in front of a large crowd.

The Cadets title was won by up and coming Division Two player, Jye Lock, who defeated Thane Taylor in straight sets, whilst in the Junior Championship, Lewis Johnstone took the title for the third year running, beating Joe Chapman in four sets.

The Mixed Doubles was won by Anna Joyce and Don Hobbs who beat the title-holders, Pat Thorley and Tim Giles, in a very close five set thriller, whilst Thorley was more successful in the Women’s Doubles with her partner, Elaine Mills, taking the title for the second year running, winning in straight sets against Nicky Dando and Nikki Turner.

Steve Mills

The Men’s Doubles proved a match of top-quality table tennis, with all contestants being current British Senior League players. After a tense and exciting match, Ryan Cates and Paul Rainford, beat Lewis Johnstone and partner Hugh Idle in five sets.

The Women’s Singles was won by Pat Thorley for the third year running, after a straight set win against Nicky Dando, whilst in the Men’s Singles, a new name went on the trophy as Steve Mills took the title after victory over Mark Turner in four sets.

IWTTA chairman, Alex Rorke, said: “We were delighted with the success of their annual finals night. It was good to see an increased and enthusiastic crowd, witnessing some closely-fought matches in a variety of different tournaments – handicapped and age-restricted, in both singles and doubles events.”