New Round the Island speed record set

pic: Ian

Good Boy Vodka broke the Round the Island speed record in winning the opening race of the UKOPRA Offshore Powerboat Championship on Saturday.

The previous record, set by Chris Parsonage back in 2005, was with an average speed of 111mph; this was surpassed by British driver, Rob Lockyer, and American, Tim Linden, in a 47ft Outerlimits Hull at an average speed of 118.04mph – in a time of 30m 18s. A total of 20 powerboats took part in the 360-degree 51.8 nautical miles course.

Second place went to Falmouth-based team, Double Trouble, with an average speed of 104.27 mph, in a Fountain monohull.

Third was a Class One Fountain hull for debutant team, Laa Laa, with Southampton-based racing-driver, Dean Stoneman, at the helm.

Oceanus Racing VT, with Rich Truscott, took line honours in the new offshore Class of 1L with an impressive 82.86 mph for a single engine boat. Class 2 went to the first Catamaran home for Poole-based Assagai, a class where all the teams completed the race.

Class 3 debutants, and the youngest drivers to race in UKOPRA history, Baylan Blanks and Harry Pink from Bembridge, won in Class 3B with a Phantom 19G race hull called Motorvated Racing.