Six contenders to become MP on both sides of the Island

Rachel Thacker

After a late entry into the general election race on the East side of the Island last week, there is another surprise contender in the West Wight seat.

Last week Ventnor hotelier, David Groocock, threw his hat in the ring for the IW East seat, under the slogan ‘Get Island Roads Moving’. Yesterday (Friday), the IW Council published the final list of confirmed candidates for both new IW seats. In the West, along with candidates for the five national parties (Conservative, Green, Labour, Liberal Democrats and Reform UK), is Rachel Thacker, who is standing for the Alliance for Democracy and Freedom (ADF).

The party was set up in 2019 by Michael Hookem, a former Member of the European Parliament. Companies House shows that he resigned as a director of the party in July last year. The ADF is now led by Tech Khong, who has stood for parliament as a Conservative, UKIP and Independent Brexit candidate.

Ms Thacker has been invited to attend the election hustings for Isle of Wight West which will be held on Wednesday evening in Newport Minster. Hustings meetings for both seats have been jointly organised by IW Observer and Island Echo, the Island’s two leading independent news publications, with the Isle of Wight East hustings on Wednesday, June 19. The free tickets were quickly snapped up with a long waiting list for both events.


The full list of confirmed candidates for Isle of Wight East is Cameron Palin (Green), Ian Pickering (Reform), Richard Quigley (Labour), Bob Seely (Conservative, Nick Stuart (Liberal Democrat) and Rachel Thacker (Alliance for Democracy and Freedom).

For Isle of Wight West the candidates are Emily Brothers (Labour), David Groocock (Independent), Michael Lilley (Liberal Democrat), Vix Lowthian (Green), Sarah Morris (Reform UK) and Joe Robertson (Conservative).