Community Council voted to oppose 40 houses on Seaclose Park

Newport and Carisbrooke Community Council has voted to oppose controversial plans to build more than 40 houses on Seaclose Park.

Not one council member opposed a motion by Cllr Mary Craven to ‘unreservedly oppose’ the plans drawn up by mainland consultants as part of the Newport Harbour Masterplan.

The IW Council cabinet is due to vote on the plan in September but is coming under huge pressure to remove the Seaclose housing element from the document.

The vote of Newport and Carisbrooke Community Council comes as a petition organised by Cllr Matt Price, whose ward includes Seaclose, has been signed by over 3,000 people.

“I would like to thank Cllr Mary Craven for bringing forward this motion and to all those members who voted for it. Its a fantastic endorsement of the campaign against this housing. The community, young and old and irrespective of party politics, is uniting against this awful proposal. We are seeing local democracy in action and, in this spirit, we would urge the IW Council to think again about this unwanted, unnecessary and hugely damaging proposal.”

Matt said: “I am really encouraged that the Newport community is making its voice known loud and clear. It is completely unacceptable to build houses at this location – a valuable greenfield space that provides such a much-loved local amenity.

The resolution was: “Newport & Carisbrooke Community Council unreservedly opposes proposals within the IW Councils draft Newport Harbour Masterplan to build housing on Seaclose Park. We recognise the importance of retaining green space in the town for our residents to enjoy.”

Eleven members voted for, there were none against and two abstained. The proposal was from Cllr Mary Craven and seconded by Cllr Matt Price.

The voting was as follows:

  • Cllr Bundell- For
  • Cllr Smart- For
  • Cllr Lever- For
  • Cllr Craven- For
  • Cllr Price- For
  • Cllr Brodie- For
  • Cllr Ballington- For
  • Cllr Jones-Evans- For
  • Cllr Hastings- Abstained
  • Cllr Hollis- Abstained
  • Cllr Martin- For
  • Cllr Garrett- For
  • Cllr Coburn -For