Freshwater Lifeboat volunteers honoured for their sterling work

Freshwater Independent Lifeboat was invited to attend the UK Honours ceremony hosted by The Royal Life Saving Society UK at the breathtaking Worcester Cathedral. The ceremony recognises the thousands of UK volunteers for their outstanding contribution to keep people safe around the coastlines, and in the water.

The lifeboat was established in 1972, with a number of the original crew still serving and on call 24/7. Being one of the longest established lifeboat stations on the Isle of Wight, the RLSS UK agreed that the volunteer crews dedication to saving lives needed to be recognised.

At the prestigious event, FILB was represented by Rob McLaren (Chairman), Tony Moore (Senior Coxswain) and Kai Hall (D-Class Helm).

Rob said: “The award ceremony exceeded our expectations. It was quite humbling to be surrounded by so many selfless people with so many stories to tell, none of which are paid and are all volunteers. We had 14 nominations for various levels of service across our crews, and with a combined service of over 200 years, this event was very special to us.”

Recognition of Service 40 years: Martin Gould, Dave Kempster, and Paddy Longmore
Service Medal 12 years: Tony Moore, Sandra Theale, Ray Scott, Rob McLaren, and Pearl Morley

Certificate of Thanks four years: Kai Hall, Ronan McCann, Tom Stafford, Andy Dye, Tim Lee, and Sean Galloway

The awards were presented by Robert Gofton (RLSS UK CEO) and Ian Hutchins (RLSS UK President).